Projects Main Page

This page is the portal for the project-related functionality in Moment. From here you are able to create new projects, and revise old projects.

In this article we will explain how to use the filtering views on the Projects Main page. We will also explain how to create a new project and which settings are important.

Filtering settings

The picture below is a screenshot of the filtering option in the Projects Main Page. By combining both of them you will be able to select and customize which projects show up whenever you enter the page.

All
I am project owner
I have active membership
Favorites
Include external
All

This tab opens up for selecting all projects regardless of state, participation or ownership.

I am project owner

This filter shows all the projects in which the user has the membership status of "project owner" as defined in the project's membership:

I have active membership

These are projects in which the project owner has ticked this box for your profile in the project:

Favorites

You can mark projects as favorite on the project main page next to the project name. You can also under My Pages > Time > Timesheet mark your projects as favorites. This will make them appear on the Projects Main Page:

Include external

This option will include all projects that originally are part of an external partner company. For an explanation about how to setup partner companies read the following article (coming soon)

Project states and filtering

This functionality allows you to use the different types of project states to set up the filters. Here is an explanation of the different states:

Offer
Offer rejected
Not started
In progress
Stopped
Finished
Offer

AN offer has been sent to the customer and you await for a response and confirmation

Offer rejected

The offer has been rejected

Not started

Any project that has been planned, probably accepted by the customer but practical work has not started on it yet.

In progress

The most common state for any project in which the work is underway

Stopped

The work of the project has been stopped. Users may still be able to register hours on the project but a warning pop-up will appear on the time registration sheet for the coworker.

Finished

This will automatically close all open activities and tasks registered on the project.

Creating a new project

Click on the button New Project

The following window will appear:

Choose a name, a customer and a project number. The project number can be overwritten and you can choose whatever format you wish. Name and Customer are required fields. Project State was covered in the last section.

Project Templates allow you to choose a pre-defined template. You can find the templates available or create your own under Setup > Project Templates.

Price Model let's you choose a set of rules for pricing that will be the base for invoicing activites in your project. To read about price models read the following article.

Tags will let you choose tags to categorize your projects. You will find setup for tags under setup > tags > for projects.

Once you have defined these values you can click save and you will have created a new project. This window will appear:

Although many of the fields have already been explained in earlier sections. Here we will explain some other concepts: Department can be chosen if your company uses different departments either for organizational or accounting purposes. Main project can be chosen if the project is part of a bigger project. On the roll-down menu you will be able to choose from your companies existing projects, this will allow you to link them together. You can also add an external project number if necessary.

Project size (area) allow you to define the size of the locality where the project will take place. This is mostly meant for architects. Users in creative industries might not need to fill in this.

Adding project members or team

To add new members to an existing project, click on +New Team Membership.

You will be able to select either individual users or select a team. A team will be chosen based on the co-worker tag assigned to each co-worker. If you choose an individual project member, you can click on the drop down employee menu and give the new member a role:

Once the co-worker as been assigned, you can click on the membership role and check "is project owner". This will automatically give the co-worker extended access to invoicing and hours on the project. The project-owner will also receive notifications when hours have surpassed estimates on activities

These roles are pre-defined and can be found in setup > project roles.

It is worth noting that there are role-specific access levels for each role. These will be explained in detail in another article (coming soon™)

Another factor to take into account is that a project member, once he/she has registered hours with a certain role, the membership to the project cannot be deleted. If the member has quit the company, itwill have to be disabled as in "inactive" and then you can assign the member a new role.This new role could be called "old members" or something similar. This will avoid the reports showing old members in project reports.

Key Numbers

This window gives key information regarding some financial aspects of the project. Hours Worked vs Billable give insight into the profitability of the worked hours. Ideally you would have as many worked hours as billable as possible, althought this might not be the case for fixed price models, for example. The information in this section is collected from timesheet input and can also be seen in the hours overview report.

Expenses shows the budgeted and actual expenses. The expenses include those that have been manually entered to the project and those that have been imported. These expenses can be compared to the budgeted expenses. Budgeted expenses are entered in the project plan. To budget expenses go to projects > choose a project > project plan. Click on the tab expenses and you can budget them under the corresponding category:

Finances shows information regarding the active price models in the project. It also shows an invoicing summary of invoiced and pending sums. Much of this information can also be double-checked in the corresponding price models in the project's pricing set-up.