Reservations

This page explains the main features of reservations, and it also will explain how reservations work with the project plan

The reservations screen in Moment is used to make tentative changes to the week by week hour allocation for each coworker in a project. You can choose to either see the hour allocation on a coworker-basis, or on a project basis. The screen is also divided in weeks, similar to the project plan picture. In this screen you can also see the dates corresponding for each week. See the picture below:

If we mark to show reservations for each coworker and for hours, this gives the following overview:

In this example, the coworker Adam has been allocated 20 hours to work on the project “Delplan sjøområde”. The highlighted red square shows the amount of hours reserved for that coworker in week 8. 20 hours have been booked for that week, the remaining 13 hours have not been allocated yet. The total number of hours, 33, amount to the total hours specified on Adam’s employment page.

The highlighted green square shows the hours as they have been allocated in the project plan module. As we can see, the twenty hours marked in blue correspond with the twenty hours as they have been assigned in the project module. If a project manager wishes to see how many hours have been reserved, and hence, how many are available, the manager can just look them up on the reservation window.

This opens the possibility to make changes in the reservation screen. These changes could be to make tentative changes to the available and reserved hours for each worker.

The following picture shows an example the reservation window and what it looks like when changes have been made to it:

In this example, I decided to make tentative changes to Adam’s allocated hours on the Delplan Sjøområdet project by clicking on the small pencil icon on the right. I decided to change the allocated hours from twenty to fourteen. As you can see, my changes are marked in red, while the existent hours from the project plan are in blue and are crossed by a line, indicating that they are no longer valid. When all the changes have been made to the allocation of hours, the next step would be to go to the project plan and change the actual allocation of hours there.

The following screenshot shows how Adam’s available hours change after we have adjusted his allocated hours down to fourteen from twenty:

Now the allocated number of hours is changed and corrected, showing the same amount of hours, both in red and in blue.

If you don't want to see the changes made in the reservation window, you can untick this setting on the top right corner of the reservation window:

This setting is turned on by default and there is no company or user-setting that allows for it to be unticked as standard.

We can conclude that changes made in the project plan will reflect on the reservations overview. However this is not to say that changes in the reservation overview will in turn feed on to the project plan. This is important. The point of the reservation plan is both to give a quick overview of available hours and at the same time to give the possibility to make quick changes to the reservation overview.